Text size:  A  A  A

Denny prize winners announced

Professor of Theology Edward Sellner.
Professor of Theology Edward Sellner.
Photo supplied.

The winners of the St. Catherine University Denny Prize for Distinction in Writing awards were announced Wednesday, March 26.

A reception will be held on Wednesday, April 23, from 4 to 6 p.m. in the Catherine G. Murphy Gallery in the Visual Arts Building on the St. Paul campus. The Denny family will be in attendance. 

Submissions for this year’s Denny Prize came from an impressive group of faculty and staff writers. After careful review by external judges, the following winners were selected:

The Denny Award Winner for Non-Fiction is Professor of Theology Edward Sellner for "Physician to One’s Pain," a chapter from his book, The Double: Male Eros, Friendship and Mentoring–From Gilgamesh to Kerouac.

The Denny Award Winner for Creative Writing is O'Neill Center Assistant Director April Gibson (pictured right) for her collection of poetry, The Draping of Broods.April Gibson.

Assistant Professor of Theology Karen Guth was awarded an Honorable Mention for Non-Fiction for her journal article, "To See from Below: Dietrich Bonhoeffer’s Mandates and Feminist Ethics."

Assistant Professor of Liberal Arts and Sciences Elizabeth Fontaine was awarded the Honorable Mention for Creative Writing for her short story, "Tulsi Baug."

More about the Denny Prize

The Denny family established an endowment to fund an annual faculty and staff prize for distinction in writing.

In recognition of the fundamental importance of writing to thinking and to all fields of scholarly endeavor, the Denny Prize was named in honor of Eleanor McCahill Denny '26, who was greatly influenced by outstanding faculty during her years at St. Catherine. She attributed to those scholars her abiding love for books, for words, and for excellent writing.

March 26, 2014 by Julie Michener

See also: Alumnae/i, Faculty, Liberal Arts