Text size:  A  A  A

Center for Women recognizes students and faculty

At the annual Abigail Quigley McCarthy Center for Women awards celebration on April 23, undergraduates, graduates and faculty were honored for their leadership and scholarly work.  Award recipients received recognition for their outstanding leadership, research and creative work on women or best paper in women’s studies.

Student Leadership Award
Celeste Beattie-Schaefer ’16
Anna Callahan ’15
Chia "Chilli" Lor ’14
Nicollette Mosbeck ’14
Makabongwe Ngulube ’16
Lorena Ramirez ’14
Rita Richardson ’14
Jamie Thao ’14
Caitlyn Wright ’14
Sai Yang ’17

Collaborative Leadership Award
CSJ Student Alliance: Jenna Garness ’17, Catherine Madison ’17, Shannon McKeever ’17, and Nicole Szyszka ’17

Research and Creative Work on Women Award

  • Mariamu Conteh ’16, undergraduate, “Arranged but Not Broken”
  • Puck Matz ’15, undergraduate, “Navigating Solidarity: Transmasculinity, Sisterhood, and Feminist Space”
  • Maria Kangas ’15, graduate, “Extended Breastfeeding and Maternal Stress-protective Benefits”
  • Marge Rogers Barrett ’68, alumna, “As a Postulant”
  • Karen Guth, faculty, “To See From Below: Dietrich Bonhoeffer's Mandates and Feminist Ethics”
  • Marcie Myers and Anna Myhre ’12, faculty/student collaboration, “Reproductive Costs for Everyone: How Female Loads Impact Human Mobility Strategies”

Best Paper in Women’s Studies Award

  • Rachel Thompson ’14, undergraduate, “Memoria Histórica: The Use of Story Telling as a Foundation for Liberation within El Salvador
  • Elizabeth Wambheim ’14, undergraduate, “Gender Role Shifting and Dichotomies Breaking: The Presence of Feminist Theory and Queer Theory in Contemporary Video Games”
  • Corrie Harrigan ’13, recent graduate, “Pussy Control: The Theory of a Universal Pejorative, Feminist Solidarity, and the Power of Naming”

Supporting St. Catherine University’s mission of educating to lead and influence, the Abigail Quigley McCarthy Center for Women affirms the dignity of women and fosters their intellectual and leadership potential. The Center for Women was dedicated to author and activist Abigail Quigley McCarthy ’36 in 1986.

May 9, 2014 by Ashley de los Reyes '15

See also: Alumnae/i, Faculty, Leadership, Liberal Arts, Students