Text size:  A  A  A

Social work dean elected to national accreditation council

Barbara Shank, dean of the joint St. Catherine University and University of St. Thomas School of Social Work, has been named chair-elect of the board of directors of the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE).

Shank’s one-year term begins July 1, 2012. She will then serve as chair of the board from July 1, 2013, through June 30, 2016.  

 The School of Social Work is a joint bachelor’s and master’s degree program by St. Catherine University and the University of St. Thomas.

CSWE is a nonprofit national association representing more than 2,500 individual members, as well as 500 undergraduate and 232 graduate programs of professional social work education. Founded in 1952, it is recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation as the sole accrediting agency for social work education in the United States.

May 30, 2012 by Pauline Oo

See also: Faculty, Leadership