Text size:  A  A  A

Alumna wins 2014 Lindy Boggs award

Denise M. Miller '89, MBA, OTR/L received the 2014 Lindy Boggs award, presented by the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA). The award recognizes significant contributions by an occupational therapist in promoting occupational therapy in the political arena, or by increasing appreciation and understanding of occupational therapy by elected or appointed officials.

Miller has targeted her leadership focus on behalf of her peers and for clients who benefit from her specialty areas of practice. She has served as AOTA Alternate Representative for Minnesota (1996–1999), a Standing Committee member of the Work Special Interest Section (WSIS) (1995–2002), WSIS Chairperson (2002–2005), and AOTPAC Region 5 Board member (2008–2013).

Miller is a nationally recognized leader and well published in the area of work and industry. She was responsible for designing, researching, and implementing the Live Well Senior Program, which has touched the lives of more than 1500 seniors and their families since its inception in 2011. Her efforts have earned her recognition as a community champion regarding continuity of care and partnerships with all service providers within the senior population.

Miller has exemplified OT advocacy at the local, state, and national levels. She has held many leadership positions, worked in collaboration with government officials, and received more than 100 certificates from legislative officials acknowledging and commending her efforts in advocating for occupational therapy.

Related Content
Networking 101: Alumnae promote St. Kate's by supporting, mentoring other women – October 2013

July 11, 2014 by Sara Berhow

See also: Alumnae/i, Healthcare, Leadership