Text size:  A  A  A

St. Kate’s honors five at annual Faculty-Staff Awards ceremony

Associate Professor of the Liberal Arts and Sciences Deborah Churchill was among two recipients of the Faculty Teaching and Advising Award in 2013.
Associate Professor of the Liberal Arts and Sciences Deborah Churchill was among two recipients of the Faculty Teaching and Advising Award in 2013.
Photos by Maria Ignacio '13.

Three staff members and two professors were honored Friday at St. Catherine University’s annual faculty-staff awards ceremony.

Led by President Andrea Lee, IHM, with assistance from Senior Vice-President Colleen Hegranes, more than 250 attended the cremony that also recognizes faculty and staff for their years of service -  from five years all the way to 45 years! 

The Service and Staff of the Year Awards honor the contributions that employees make to enrich the lives of our students and colleagues.  Colleagues and students nominate individuals they believe have offered outstanding service and commitment to the St. Catherine community.

President Lee recognized all the Service and Support Staff nominees:

  • Vanessa Beaudry, 
  • Sheila Berger, 
  • Gloria Blaha,
  • Michelle Freeman,
  • Katherine Goldenstein, 
  • Nanette Johnson, 
  • Rita Klosinski,
  •  Lynne Linder,
  •  Mary Ann Matsumoto, 
  • Kimberlee Roth, 
  • Sally Sundberg.

 Receiving a standing ovation in addition to the award was Rita Klosinski, administrative assistant to the Doctorate of Physical Therapy and  Physical Therapy Assistant Departments.

Writing in support of her nomination, colleagues praised her for the way in which she “lives the mission and vision of St. Catherine.”  

Described as a highly productive team player, one supporter observed “that she does the “hidden” work that makes others work get done more efficiently, and with more joy.”

Two administrative staff members honored

Colleagues also nominate each other for administrative staff awards, which carry a cash prize in addition to public recognition. 

Administrative Staff Award nominees were:

  • Mary Beth Arthaud, 
  • Laura Bauercamper,
  • Michael Benson,
  • Robert Craft,
  • Raine de Campeau,
  • Kristin Erb, 
  • Sharon Fetting, 
  • Lorissa Gottschalk,
  • Tracey Gran,
  • Osiris Guzman,
  • Beth Hamer, 
  • Sadie Heider,
  • Norah Hoff, 
  • Carolyn Jackson,
  • Cynthia Krey, 
  • Suzanne Kuncio,
  • Cynthia Olson, 
  • Scott Pakudaitis, 
  • Lynda Szymanski, 
  • Heather Wallace.

President Andrea Lee, IHM presented two awards.

The first award was presented to Raine De Campeau, assistant director of the Office of Global Studies, who was honored for working tireless to increase the number of students who apply and receive study abroad scholarships. She assists students throughout the scholarship process – from meeting deadlines to helping them revise their scholarship essay.  

Student letters of support described her as a mentor whose grace and positive attitude is an inspiration.  Said one, “Her advice changed me from a quiet young woman to an assertive positive leader.  I know when I work in the “real world” I can reflect on her professionalism and the leadership lessons she has taught me.”

The second administrative staff award-winner was Carolyn Jackson, multicultural outreach coordinator in the Multicultural and International Programs office, who was praised by colleagues as a great role model for students because of her commitment to Catholic Social Teachings and the mission of St. Kate’s. 

 “Supportive and compassionate, she leads by example and never turns away from a tough situation,” said Sister Andrea. “She pushes herself and those around her to peacefully understand each other and the differences that can either push us apart or draw us together. “

A graduate student herself, Jackson was praised for her ability to understands students’ challenges and as a role model.

Faculty of the Year Awards

The 2013 Faculty Teaching and Advising Awards honor the highest quality of teaching and dedication to effective mentoring and academic advising.

 Members of the St. Kate's community nominate faculty members for this award that are made on the basis of: maintaining high academic standards, being an effective teacher, and providing quality mentoring and advising.  

The selection committee reviews nomination letters and letters of support, course syllabi and materials, and course evaluations.  

From an initial list of 22 nominees for the Faculty Teaching and Advising award, the committee identified 7 finalists: 

  • Allison Adrian, Music,
  • Rhodora Beaton, Theology,
  • Deborah Churchill, Liberal Arts & Sciences,
  • Gabrielle Civil, English,
  • Patricia Nanoff, Liberal Arts & Sciences,
  • Arturo Sesma, Psychology,
  • Stacy Symons, Psychology.

“Each of these remarkable teachers deserves recognition,” said Sister Andrea.  “Daily, each demonstrates a commitment to high academic standards, to effective teaching practices and a genuine enthusiasm to support students throughout their University experience.”

faculty_award_2The first of two awardees was Assistant Professor of Music Allison Adrian, pictured at right.

In class evaluations and in letters of support, students described Adrian as a “change agent” and an “instructor who takes a holistic teaching approach.”

Reading music is not a requirement for any of her courses because they are open to non-majors so her courses feature visiting artists, concerts and field trips. 

Her teaching techniques help connect students to the music that sounds “unfamiliar’ to them and to connect them to the people and cultures that create it.  

Students gain a global understanding of music and its cultural context - from Ghanian children’s song/rock passing game that illustrates the significance of rhythm in Sub Saharan Africa, or how to clap to a South Indian rhythmic mode, to learning about how much lung capacity is required to play south American panpipes.

The second Faculty Teaching and Advising Award winner was Associate Professor of the Liberal Arts and Sciences Deborah Churchill.

A faculty member at St. Kate’s since 1982 and both a former finalist and past nominee for the Faculty Teaching-Advising Award, Churchill was described in student letters of support as “a teaching heroine” -  compassionate, engaging, sensitive to student needs and creative in meeting complex needs.

Dedicated to student success, Churchill was praised for holding every student to a high academic standard and assisting each to obtain and maintain that standard.

Students described her concern for their personal success and how she took the time to meet with individual students every week throughout the semester to help students overcome stress and study more effectively. 

Colleagues praised her as an excellent teacher and advisor who is loved by her students. One colleague noted: “She demonstrates the very best that St. Kate’s has to offer. “

In closing, Sister Andrea acknowledged the contributions and efforts made by the entire university workforce and faculty and invited all to enjoy the annual University celebration, Dew Drop Bop, that followed the awards ceremony.

May 21, 2013 by Julie Michener

See also: Faculty, Students