Text size:  A  A  A

Annual Honors and Awards ceremony celebrates student achievement

Vice President of Enrollment Management and Student Affairs Brian Bruess applauds honorees in the ceremony held Tuesday.
Vice President of Enrollment Management and Student Affairs Brian Bruess applauds honorees in the ceremony held Tuesday.
Photo by Maria Ignacio '13.

The St. Catherine University community congregated Tuesday to celebrate students’ academic and leadership achievements, including all-University Student Leadership Awards, inductees into the 24 active academic honor societies and the recipients of scholarships and departmental honors.

Every stripe of academic achievement is highlighted for faculty, staff, students and family and friends to honor — from analytical chemistry to creative writing to business administration.

In addition, the Honors and Awards ceremony presents six All-University Awards that acknowledges student leadership, outstanding loyalty and service, and contributions to the St. Kate’s mission

New award memorialized beloved member of St. Kate's community

Michael J. Baynes was memorialized with a new student honor, the Michael J. Baynes Reflective Life Award.  The associate director of student life on the Minneapolis campus and an associate professor, Baynes died in a tragic accident in July 2012.  With members of his family present, Dean of Student Affairs Curt Galloway presented the award to Jenaya Farkell '13, who is completing an associate degree in sonography and also works in the Minneapolis campus student affairs office. Galloway described her as a leader who "never lost sight of holding members of the Minneapolis campus together" and worked tirelessly to serve the St. Kate's community as a "vision of possibilities" for everyone.

2012 — 2013 Award Recipients

The Re-Entry Adult Student Leadership Award was presented to Lee Thao '13. The award is presented to a student for their outstanding leadership and service to peers at the University.  It is awarded to a student who has postponed entering college or is returning to college in the undergraduate program at St. Catherine University.

The Mary Alice Muellerleile Student Leadership Award was presented to Amy Peavey '13. Named in honor of the first director of the Evening/Weekend/Online, the Muellerleile Award is presented to an EWO program student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and service to her peers and to the University, and who has been an advocate of the strengths and development of women of all ages.

The Thomas More Award is presented to students who have demonstrated outstanding loyalty and service, as well as integrity and campus spirit. This award was presented to 16 students.

Anne Garski '13 and Delorianne Sander '13 were presented with the Helen B. Lammer Award in Honor of Mother Antonia McHugh. The award was established by the University’s chapter of the Association of University Professors and recognizes a student who intends to pursue a career in teaching at the college or university level, and who exemplifies the ideals of Mother Antonia, St. Kate’s first president.

The Dean of Students Award was presented to Leslie Muzulu '13 for her outstanding contributions to the University’s mission throughout her St. Kate’s career.

Mary E. McCahill Memorial Award

The Mary E. McCahill Memorial Award – long recognized as the University’s most prestigious student award – is presented to the senior who has consistently demonstrated outstanding leadership, academic excellence, loyalty and service to the University.  This year’s award was presented to Renee Crepeau '13.

A double major in Marketing and Management and International Business and Economics, Crepeau is a member of the Business Honor Society, a resident advisor and member of the Wildcats cross country, and track and field teams. She also served as student senate president during the 2012-13 academic year.

Crepeau was also among the students selected for the 2012 Opus Prize due diligence teams. She traveled to Bolivia to learn and observe the work performed by Mano a Mano, a Twin Cities based non-governmental organization (NGO), that works collaboratively with Bolivians to build hospitals, schools and infrastructure projects in remote areas of the country.

FacebookShare  Share on Facebook

April 30, 2013 by Julie Michener

See also: Leadership, Liberal Arts, Students