Text size:  A  A  A

Alumnae inducted as fellows of American Academy of Nursing

Erin Murphy MAOL’05 (left) and Pamela Johnson ’80
Erin Murphy MAOL’05 (left) and Pamela Johnson ’80
Photo supplied.

The American Academy of Nursing selected 163 nurse leaders for induction as fellows, announced July 1. The induction ceremony will take place during the Academy's annual policy conference on October 17 in Washington, D.C. Among the six inductees from Minnesota are two St. Catherine University alumnae, Pamela Johnson '80 and Erin Murphy MAOL'05.

Selection criteria for fellowship include evidence of significant contributions to nursing and health care and sponsorship by two current Academy fellows. Selection is based, in part, on the extent the nominee’s nursing career has influenced health policies and the health and well-being of all.

Johnson is the chief nursing officer at Mayo Clinic, where she has worked for 34 years. She is accountable for all aspects of nursing and guides the work of 13,000 nurses across all Mayo Clinic sites. She is a member of both the Mayo Clinic Board of Governors and Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees. Johnson was a commencement speaker at St. Kate's in spring of 2015.

Murphy is the deputy minority leader in the Minnesota House of Representatives, currently serving her fifth term. She represents district 64A, and serves on the Health and Human Services and Legacy Funding Finance committees. In addition, Murphy is an adjunct lecturer in the doctor of nursing practice program at St. Kate's.

Related content:

Full list of fellows inducted to the American Academy of Nursing in 2015 (July 1, 2015)

MPR journalist and Mayo’s chief nurse among St. Catherine Commencement speakers (May 4, 2015)

Facebook icon  Share on Facebook

July 6, 2015 by Sara Berhow

See also: Alumnae/i, Healthcare, Leadership